Dream A Little Dream Review | Blogmas Day 23

Hi! :)

About a few months ago I read a book by Giovanna Fletcher, called Dream a Little Dream. I think it would be the greatest book to read in winter, so I thought I would do a bit of a review of it.

To be honest, I hadn’t had much thought to this book, I hadn’t had high expectations, I bought it only because of the cover of it and because of the fact that Giovanna wrote it. But it actually surprised me a lot and became one of my favourite books.

dald

Firstly, the cover of it looks very-very lovely and warm. The illustration is really cute. It immediately caught my eyes. Then I read the back of the book, where there’s a little preview of what the book is about. I was a bit disappointed to be completely honest, because it didn’t excite me that much. To me it seemed very boring. Here it is:

“Sarah is doing just fine. Sure she’s been single for the last five years, and has to spend an uncomfortable amount of time around her ex-boyfriend, his perfect new girlfriend and all their mutual friends. And yes, her job as a PA to one of the most disgusting men in London is mind-numbingly tedious and her career is a constant disappointment to her mother. But it’s really okay. She’s happy (ish).

But it’s not surprising that when Sarah starts dreaming about a handsome stranger, she begins to look forward to falling asleep every night. Reality isn’t nearly as exciting. That is until her dream-stranger makes an unexpected real-life appearance, leaving Sarah questioning everything she thought she wanted.

Because no one ever really finds the person of their dreams… do they?”

However, when I started to read the book, it instantly got me interested in what’s going to happen. The book is very slow paced in my opinion, which was the main reason why it was so intriguing and fascinating. The story is well-written and it’s easy to read, which keeps you in a good “wanting to read more” mood. I love that the story isn’t in medias res, but it has a quite long introduction-like part, which slowly lets you get into the plot of the book. I love it because the reader is left with the feeling of wanting more and more.

The book is about 400 pages long, but it doesn’t feel that long. I finished reading the book in 3 days when I was on holiday and I couldn’t put it down, it is that good. It’s a very sweet, romantic story full of surprises and original very funny jokes. I think the title is fabulous, really suits the story.

I would recommend this book to everyone who wants to read something light and lovely and to feel happy and calm after having read the book. It seriously is one of the best books I have ever had, completely surprised me. Read Dream a Little Dream, it’s worth it!

I hope you enjoyed reading the last post of Blogmas. All this time flew by so quickly and it’s Christmas in a few days. I can’t believe it! Let me know what you thought about Blogmas, I quite enjoyed doing it! Have a beautiful day and a very merry Christmas! See you soon!

Bye x

Kinga

Leave a Reply

