A Hungarian Christmas

Hi!:)

As I promised, I am here with a post about Christmas in Hungary. Christmas here is very different from e.g. how Americans celebrate it.

We don’t have Santa Claus at Christmas, but we have Santa on the 6th December. On the fifth, little kids clean their boots, then put them in the window. On the morning of 6th December, Santa Claus comes and puts a little red package of sweets, and small stuff in it, which fit in the boots. If the kids were bad, then Santa puts a ’golden stick’ in their boots, showing that they should behave better next year, but obviously, they get the red package as well. So it’s the story of Santa. Kind of.

But on the 24th December, the majority of the people put up the Christmas tree together (or not), and have a lovely day. On that evening everyone has their traditional dinners together at the table. You usually can find fish, fish soup, apple, nuts, honey,stuffed cabbage, and mostly bejgli on the table. Bejgli is a traditional Hungarian pastry, cake, or desert, I don’t know how to describe it (I will insert a picture here), and we mainly eat it only at Christmas time. Of course, other meals, too, and there is defenitely a lot of food on the table, because every Hungarian loves a huge yummy meal. After eating our dinner, we go and take a lot at the Christmas tree, which by then has presents under it. Everyone sits around the tree and open their presents, and have fun. So that is it basically for 24th December. It can differ in other families a little bit, but we celebrate Christmas like this, and I know that a lot of other Hungarians do, too.

On the 25th, my family usually goes to my cousins’ house and we celebrate Christmas with a Christmas lunch there with a few of our other relatives, too. After we ate our lunch, we do the same thing as on the previous day, open the presents. On the 26th, we go to my grandmother’s for a Christmas lunch, and then again, we open the presents, but this time it’s only my family and my granny there. In Hungary not Santa brings the presents, but ’Baby Jesus’, as we call him (Jézuska in Hungarian). We don’t eat meat on the 24th untill that evening. In general, people take the Christmas tree down only on the 6th January, because it’s the day of Epiphany.

I’m sure I didn’t write something important down, and I know that I have a few grammar mistakes in this post, but hopefully you can apologize me.

I hope you enjoyed this post, and got to know some new information about Christmas in Hungary, so I hope I helped a little bit with writing it for you. Let me know in the comments below what you think of it, and how you celebrate Christmas, the holiday of love. Thanks for being here! See you soon!

P.s.: I almost forgot to wish you a very merry Christmas and happy holidays! I hope you’ll have a wonderful time and can spend a little time with your family!

Budapest-Christmas-Markets-ITAA.ie_

Bye x

Kinga

Leave a Reply

